Nier: Automata is a game built around the concept of saving the world. The game revolves around the Yorha race, a group of android soldiers who fight to preserve the world in which they were created. In the game, you control 2B and 9S, who are part of the Yorha race, who are tasked with destroying all of the YoRHa units. You are able to control a handful of other characters throughout the game, but for this guide, we’ll be focusing on 9S and 2B.

Nier: Automata is a new game from Square Enix that picks up the story from the original Nier. It is an action RPG that has been released on the PC, PS4, and recently, the Xbox One as well. The game takes place between Nier and Nier: Replicant, but to avoid spoilers let’s not go into that too deeply. There are three classes: Warrior, Hunter and Runewalker. The Runewalker is the new class for Nier: Automata, and requires two characters to be on the same team in order to activate it. It is a bit more powerful that the other two classes, and is able to increase with each level you obtain. There are two steps to

Nier: Automata is an action RPG game that centres around two characters, Nier and his partner Kaine. The pair play new characters to the franchise, including Nier, the father, and Kaine, the little sister, in the story. Nier and Kaine must protect their child, General Shax, who is being held by the machine army.

You’ll need to level your squad for the most powerful loadout imaginable, whether you’ve acquired characters through the narrative or spent gems to reroll for the best in the game. You may utilize Nier Reincarnation’s Ascension system to raise the level cap and acquire new powers in addition to upgrading characters with different goods to improve their level.

You’ll need Texts and Handbooks to Ascend your characters. Each character’s text is unique. They may be bought with Automata Medals from the Exchange Shop, acquired as prizes for completing specific regular and hard narrative missions for the first time, or obtained via duplicate summons.

Though all characters may utilize Texts to ascend, not all of them have Texts that can be bought or acquired via missions (or at least it seems that way so far). Handbooks are useful in this situation.

Handbooks serve the same purpose as Texts, and any character may use them to Ascend, but they are divided into three categories: Beginner’s, Intermediate, and Advanced. They may also be utilized to Ascend characters who do not yet have Texts in-game.

The Automata Medals may be used to buy Beginner’s and Intermediate Handbooks from the Exchange Shop. Advanced Handbooks seem to be accessible exclusively via events, but I’ve yet to find one in the eight hours or so I’ve spent playing. 

To advance a character, do the following:

  • Navigate to the main menu.
  • Select “Enhance” from the drop-down menu. 
  • Choose “Characters” from the drop-down menu.

This will bring up all of the characters you’ve acquired throughout the game, both via the narrative and by summoning. Choose one of your characters you’d want to enhance. On the far right side of the screen, choose the “Ascend” tab. If you can Ascend a character, a red diamond will appear in the top-right corner of the tab.

Battle Text and Handbook will be added to the Ascension choices. By glancing at the symbol for each, you can see how many you have in your inventory. You may also click on the icons to find out where you can buy or find out where you can locate them.

Some descriptions will just state “???,” indicating that you haven’t yet found the Text or Handbook, while others will be more detailed. Even if you have a specific amount of Battle Texts in your inventory, their locations may still be shown as “???” in the descriptions since you obtained them via synthesizing dupe summons. You haven’t yet picked them up in the game.

Each time you summon a duplicate character, you’ll get a set amount of Battle Texts for that character. The amount of messages you get is highly influenced by RNG, and the number you receive is totally unpredictable yet easily discernible. 

On the Summons wrap-up screen, a duplicate character will appear as a square with a number in the middle. This number is linked to many Battle Texts. 


  • ?? = 1 (I haven’t yet pulled a one.)
  • 2 = 16
  • 3 = 14
  • 4 = 12
  • 5 = 10

After receiving messages from dupes, be sure to go to the gift box and pick them up.

Each character may be Ascended four times. This raises their level cap, provides new skills, and improves existing abilities. Each Ascension requires a certain number of Texts or Handbooks (typically 10) as well as a specific quantity of Gold (usually 25,000). 

That’s all there is to it when it comes to Ascending characters in Nier Reincarnation. Consider visiting our guides center, which has every Black Bird location as well as other useful information.

Today, I’m going to walk you through how to ascend characters and take them to their fullest potential. I’ll also highlight some particularly good characters that you should level up right away.. Read more about nier automata heavy attack and let us know what you think.

This article broadly covered the following related topics:

  • nier automata combat guide
  • nier automata combo guide
  • nier automata continuous combo
  • nier automata advanced tips
  • nier automata beginners guide
You May Also Like

The Jacksonville Jaguars Just Put Trevor Lawrence’s Future at Risk With a Business Decision That Could Prove Costly Down the Line

The Jaguars have spent much of this off season sailing under the…

Former Browns Star Joe Thomas Sparks Outrage After Trolling the Steelers in Playoff Loss to the Chiefs: ‘Participation Trophy’

Joe Thomas has sent the internet into a frenzy with his comments…

Dune Spice Wars Tips and Tricks Guide

Dune Spice Wars is a game of strategy and war. A great…

Lakers Rumored to Be Considering Blockbuster Deal for Hometown Star

The Lakers are reportedly looking to acquire a hometown star this summer…